• Introduction

The College of Social Sciences (CSS), previously the College of Law,
established in 1982, taking five departments, two independent master programs,
and three major research centers since 1993.
The CSS is one of the most complete interdisciplinary schools in central

Currently, the College consists of the Department of Economics,
the Department of Political Science, the Department of Sociology, the Department of
Social Work,and the Department of Public Management and Policy.
The two independent master programs are the Graduate Institute of Education and the Executive Master of Public Affairs.
All the departments offer master program, while Sociology, Social Work,
and Political Science also offer doctoral programs.
In 2017, the College also established Credit- Bearing Graduate Program For
“Global and Public Affairs ”
with all the courses taught in English.

Tunghai University, established in 1955 with strong liberal arts tradition,
is one of the most prestigious University in the area of Social Sciences and Humanities in
With the strong tradition, faculties of the CSS are working hard to reach the goal.
In teaching, they seek to cultivate in students depth of thought, ability in foreign languages,
knowledge of conferences, ability to draft plans, write essays, and official correspondence,
as well as the skill in administration and management.
Students of the college undergo rigorous professional training,
gain solid grounding in economics, sociology and administrative skills so as to work towards
the creation of a stronger and ideal society.

In addition to the research grants from National Science Council,
professors also are sponsored by governments and organizations to engage in various research projects.
At the same time, in order to take part in social services, professors join academic organization, government organizations, and social NGOs as members, advisors,
consultants, and etc.

Department                                                                       year of founding  


Department of Economics                                                        1955 

Department of Political Science                                               1955

Department of Sociology                                                          1956

Department of Social Work                                                       1979

Department of Public Management and Policy                       1986

Graduate Institute of Education                                                2000

Executive Master of Public Affairs                                            1999

Center of Teacher Education                                                     1993

Research Centers

Research Center of East Asia Society and Economy  

Research Center of Urban Planning and Regional Development

College Council---

General Council 

Teacher's Evaluation Committee

Course Committee 

Scholarship Committee